Montezuma quail2009

Montezuma quail2009


Worldwide Species Action Plans

Montezuma quail action planSix species of quail occur in the United States: mountain quail (Oreortyx pictus), California quail (Lophortyx californica), Gambel?s quail (Callipepla gambelii), scaled quail (Callipepla squamata), Montezuma quail (Cyrtonyx montezumae), and northern bobwhite (Colinus virginianus). The distribution of the latter 4 species occurs in Texas. Montezuma quail are unique among their counterparts in that they are considered habitat and foraging specialist (Harveson et al. 2007). Montezuma quail are strongly associated with pine-oak woodlands and forage almost exclusively on subterranean foods (Oxalis, Cyperus; Stromberg 2000).

  1. Cyrtonyx montezumae sallei
  2. Michoacan, Guerrero (sw Mexico)
  3. Cyrtonyx montezumae rowleyi
  4. Oaxaca (s Mexico)
  5. Cyrtonyx montezumae merriami
  6. Mt. Orizaba (ec Mexico)
  7. Cyrtonyx montezumae montezumae
  8. c Mexico
  9. Cyrtonyx montezumae mearnsi
  10. sw USA, n and Coahuila (n Mexico)
  11. Cyrtonyx montezumae
  12. NA, MA sw US, Mexico

Join the discussion